CLEAR

The Campaign for the Leam and Avon Rivers

River Avon at Wasperton

picture Ryan Matteri

Good News!!

We attended the Stratford District Council Cabinet meeting on 11th February and it was decided that the Council will not support the navigation idea and we also understand that Warwick District Council have withdrawn support. A great victory for common sense, powered by the huge number of emails sent by anglers and supporters of Charlecote Mill which undoubtedly made councillors aware of the scale of the opposition to this unpopular idea. Lets hope that this kills off the scheme for the forseeable future. 

Anthony

As members may be aware, the spectre of opening the upper river Avon to wide beam boat traffic has once again raised its ugly head. The section concerned is from Alveston to Warwick. Obviously, this would have a detrimental effect on both Angling and the natural environment and many other river users would be unable to continue. Needless to say, Leamington Angling Association is at the forefront of objections to this idea, as we were back in 2004 when the idea was turned down by Warwickshire County Council after a two day public meeting. WCC concluded “the organisations that support the proposals are exclusively water related interest groups and bodies” i.e. boat hire, boat building & repair, marinas etc almost all from outside the local area.

On 14th January 2019, Stratford District Council Cabinet will be considering a report from consultants who have been evaluating the socio-economic benefits of opening up the upper Avon to boat traffic. Obviously, the huge number of boats wanting to visit Stratford, Charlecote Park and Warwick Castle would make the river impossible for many other river users including anglers.

How can members help? It is essential that everyone who is concerned about this proposed development makes their objection clear to as many Stratford District and Warwick District councillors as possible. Below are email addresses for you to copy and paste. If you would like them as an Outlook Distribution List for you to import into your emails, just let me know and I'll send it. anthony@spaphoto.co.uk 

Stratford District Council

Councillor Andrew Crump andrew.crump@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Anne Parry anne.parry@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Chris Williams chris.williams@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Christopher Kettle chris.kettle@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Christopher Mills christopher.mills@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Christopher Saint chris.saint@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Danny Kendall danny.kendall@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Daren Pemberton daren.pemberton@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Dave Riches dave.riches@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Eric Payne eric.payne@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor George Atkinson george.atkinson@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Hazel Wright hazel.wright@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Jacqui Harris jacqui.harris@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Jason Fojtik jason.fojtik@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Jennifer Fradgley jenny.fradgley@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Jo Barker jo.barker@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor John Feilding john.feilding@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Justin Kerridge justin.kerridge@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Kate Rolfe kate.rolfe@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Lynda Organ lynda.organ@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Mark Cargill mark.cargill@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Maurice Howse maurice.howse@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Mike Brain mike.brain@stratford-dc.gov.uk

Councillor Mike Gittus mike.gittus@stratford-dc.gov.uk

Councillor Molly Giles molly.giles@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Penny-Anne O`Donnell penny-anne.o'donnell@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Peter Barnes peter.barnes@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Peter Moorse pmoorse@cix.co.uk 

Councillor Peter Richards peter.richards@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Robert Vaudry robert.vaudry@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Simon Lawton simon.lawton@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Stephen Gray stephen.gray@stratford-dc.gov.uk

Councillor Stephen Thirlwell stephen.thirlwell@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Susan Adams susan.adams@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Tony Bromwich tony.bromwich@stratford-dc.gov.uk 

Councillor Tony Jefferson tony.jefferson@stratford-dc.gov.uk

Warwick District Council

Alan Boad alan.boad@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Alan Rhead alan.rhead@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Amanda Stevens amanda.stevens@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Andrew Day Andrew.Day@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Andrew Mobbs andrew.mobbs@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Andrew Thompson Andrew.Thompson@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Balvinder Gill balvinder.gill@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Barbara Weed barbara.weed@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Bill Gifford bill.gifford@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Caroline Evetts caroline.evetts@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Colin Quinney Colin.Quinney@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Daniel Howe daniel.howe@warwickdc.gov.uk 

David Shilton david.shilton@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Felicity Bunker felicity.bunker@warwickdc.gov.uk 

George Illingworth george.illingworth@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Gordon Cain Gordon.Cain@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Hayley Grainger Hayley.Grainger@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Ian Davison Ian.Davison@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Jackie D'Arcy jackie.darcy@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Jane Knight jane.knight@warwickdc.gov.uk 

John Barrott john.barrott@warwickdc.gov.uk 

John Cooke John.Cooke@warwickdc.gov.uk 

John-Paul Bromley john-paul.bromley@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Judith Falp judith.falp@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Kristie Naimo Kristie.Naimo@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Mary Noone mary.noone@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Michael Coker michael.coker@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Michael Doody michael.doody@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Moira-Ann Grainger moira-ann.grainger@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Neale Murphy Neale.Murphy@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Noel Butler noel.butler@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Pamela Redford Pam.Redford@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Patricia Cain Pat.Cain@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Peter Phillips Peter.Phillips@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Peter Whiting Peter.Whiting@warwickdc.gov.uk

Richard Davies richard.davies@warwickdc.gov.uk

Richard Edgington Richard.Edgington@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Robert Margrave Rob.Margrave@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Rowena Hill Rowena.Hill@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Stef Parkins Stef.Parkins@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Stephen Cross stephen.cross@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Susan Gallagher susan.gallagher@warwickdc.gov.uk 

Terry Morris terry.morris@warwickdc.gov.uk

Tony Heath tony.heath@warwickdc.gov.uk